Welcome visitor you can log in or create an account

Inside Polo by Ron Allen


Familiar Names Return to High Goal


By Ron Allen




The Pieres’, Astradas and Obregons are among the 60 players returning to South Florida’s high goal season. Fifteen teams will compete in the January and February 20 goal competition, which features four tournaments.





Five teams are not returning in 2014 including Lyndon Lea’s Zacara squad. The two-time U.S. Open winner quit Florida polo after a fall out with the polo association over allegations of poor handicapping.




Four new teams will take to the fields: Casablanca, CT Energia, Palm Beach Illustrated and Tonkawa. Four of the world’s six 10-goal players are also on the roster, Facundo & Gonzalo Pieres, Adolfo Cambiaso and Juan Martin Nero.




There are several new faces including Jeff Hildebrand (0), Alessandro Bazzoni (1), Grant Ganzi (0), Joao Paulo Ganon (7), Nick Morrison (2) and Roberto Zedda (4).




The defending titleholders are: Pennell Cup – Coca Cola, Barry Cup – Crab Orchard, Ylvisaker Cup – Coca Cola and Iglehart Cup – Villa del Lago. The 26 goal Triple Crown will be played during March and April.